Final Vote to Ban Fossil Fuel Terminals - Dec 14

After more than a year of community advocacy, the City of Portland is taking its final vote to prohibit bulk fossil fuel terminals and expansions on Wednesday December 14th - new date.
The City Council will also be voting on Home Energy Scoring, Electric Vehicle Strategy, and Campaign Finance Reform that morning.
Join us for a morning of political climate action starting at 8:30am with Campaign Finance Reform. Witness this historic vote on fossil fuel terminals at 10:45am.
WHAT: PDX City Council Vote to Ban Fossil Fuel Terminals
WHEN: Wednesday December 14th, Vote 10:45AM
WHERE: Portland City Hall
Thanks to thousands of people submitting comments and showing up to the public hearings, Portland is poised to pass a strong, model ban on fossil fuel terminals.
The policy --
1] Prohibits new Bulk Fossil Fuel Terminals
2] Prohibits expansions at existing Bulk Fossil Fuel Terminals
3] Sets follow up directives for the City to work with the State to require much needed seismic safety improvements at existing fossil fuel terminals.
This policy is a national leader in the charge to keep fossil fuels in the ground so we can transition to an energy efficient 100% renewable energy system. The latest reports tell us that in order to stay below 2C warming (the estimated cap for a livable planet), no new fossil fuel infrastructure can be built. Portland is showing the rest of the country and the world the way!

Huge thanks to all the groups working on this including, Audubon Society of Portland, Columbia Riverkeeper, Climate Action Coalition, Friends of the Columbia Gorge, Oregon PSR (Physicians for Social Responsibility), Center for Sustainable Economy, the Oregon Chapter, Sierra Club and more!

December 14, 2016 at 10:30am - 12pm
Portland City Hall
1221 SW 4th Ave
Portland, OR 97204
United States
Google map and directions
Kali Hilton Barbara Ford Deborah Lev Glenna Hayes Alan Smith Regna Merritt Sarah Iannarone Dom Guzman Anais Tuepker William Michtom Sabina Pariser Ashley Bonn Christopher Davies James Marquard Kelcie Germano Meg Ruby Lizzy Gazeley Gaby Lemieux Yumi Ishihara Dana Weintraub Rachel Walsh Micah Meskel Dawn Smallman Lucy Kennedy-Wong Lola Goldberg Hyung Nam Yoko Silk Adriana Voss-Andreae Mia Reback Nicholas Caleb

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?


get updates